My Achin’ Back

Posted: January 15, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I got really frustrated today during weight lifting, and when I say frustrated, I mean stupid mad. I had to take a mini-break to collect myself.  You see, I’m having major lower back issues.  My deadlift isn’t where it needs to be because of this, and I’m just overall really pissed about it.

I’ve been stretching, decompressing, etc for weeks now, and it won’t let up.  The moment I deadlift more than a few times, it’s back.  I’ve been trying to build up my core, too because I have a sneaking suspicion that my stabilizer muscles aren’t all that great.

My coach has watched me carefully the last few weeks, and he told me to skip the weighted good mornings today.  I really blew it, then.  Watching everyone else around me do varying weights of something I can’t do at all left such a horrible flavor of disappointment in my mouth that I could literally taste it.

Needless to say, I should have handled the whole thing with more grace and understanding, but it was too early in the morning for that.  I walked to the restroom, sat down for a minute and talked myself out of punching a hole in the wall.  Crazy much?

Anyway, I flipped a tire 50 times and felt a little better, so I continued the work out.  Afterward, I still felt frustrated.  I attribute that to a lack of good sleep and delicious food because I’m feeling much better now after coffee and eggs.

I can smile freely at the moment, and Thursday I’m going to give it my all for squat day.  No weenie squats for this woman.  On the bright side of today, my max deadlift is now 30 lbs higher than the last CFT.  235 lbs.  I know I can do more, though.  I can feel it… as soon as my back heals.

Just so we can end on an even happier note, here’s a pic from the World Wide WOD Gym Resolution on Saturday.  We had a pretty good time for that one.  😀

Image

That’s me… in the pink and black skele-toes on the right.  All smiles.  I’m trying to channel some of that happiness today.

Leave a Reply

